Mooching Around the Middle East on Instagram

Mooching Around the Middle East on Instagram

With mixed feelings I have now joined Instagram, I am no snob when it comes to how images are produced, far from it, the image is what counts and how you go about producing it is pretty much irreverent, being asked about what camera I use instead of asking about the actual image is often cause of despair, that and how much photoshop has been used on an image, my reluctance with Instagram stems from having spent 15 years working in a professional darkroom, I spent many hours cross processing and hand printing amazing images for some outstanding photographers and seeing that process reduced to the tap of an app has been something of readjustment but life moves on and I have embraced the new opportunities it offers.
Please follow me as I mooch around Istanbul, Turkey and the Middle East:
http://instagram.com/johnwreford

16 thoughts on “Mooching Around the Middle East on Instagram

  1. Great images – how much do I miss the darkroom magic – the cutting custom mounts for the enlarger to let light spill in. Playing with the chemicals and bleaches and creating things that no one has ever seen – now you are just an operator. Get out into the mountains of Turkey – people are wonderful and food second to none.

  2. I admire your frankness about the ambivalent feelings most of us traditional photogs have about “jumping ship” to Instagram. I probably would have already tried it were it not for their rules of usage, which I find do not adequately protect people’s intellectual property. I am naturally curious about any and all advances in technology, however, so maybe someday I’ll give it a go. My DSLRs do so much, so well, that I find it hard to lay them aside, even for the convenience of an app. With all that said, however, you are a very talented photographer and would be so, even if you were shooting with a fixed-focus box Brownie. Instagram is improved when shooters with your ability join the pool. Nice to see these.

  3. John, I don’t think it’s the gear! It’s the photographer behind the lens that matters. How that photographer gets to his desired end result, is up to him/her. And you do a hell of a job from the eye to the post.

    That being said, thank you for “Liking” the post “Little Guys & I”. Streets Of Our World. on my photography blog http://www.throughharoldslens.com.

    On behalf of the Through Harold’s Lens Creative Team, my trusty sidekick Mr. SLR Nikon, his brother Mr. Pen Pal and myself, we truly appreciate your enjoyment. We hope you continue to join us on our journeys.  

    Best Regards,
    Harold

  4. Great blog, great photos! I am still looking for some pictures to publish on Thaqafa, I wouldn’t want to use your professional photos and conflict with your work – could I possibly use some of your instagrams? Of course, everything will be credited to you, name/twitter/flickr etc.

    Currently no money is made off the site and all ads were placesld there by wordpress. I would appreciate it if you could email me at thaqafamagazine@hotmail.com if you’re interested?

  5. I love your blog and ramblings. I definitely will look into your instagram soon. Your every posts are inspiring from the prospective of photo techniques. I am always amaze by your beautiful pictures. That is also the reason I nominate you for ‘Very Inspiring Blog Award’ http://thisisfaa.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/thank-you/

    Your blog inspires me beyond the pictures and the ramblings. Keep on blogging and posting those gorgeous pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

