Damascus the Beginning of the End (pt1)

I walked away from the customs building to the waiting car with my passport stamped and precariously slipped into the back pocket of my jeans, the driver was waiting patiently smoking a cigarette, legs crossed and leaning against the bonnet of the taxi, mafi musklia he asked me tossing his cigarette away and getting in the car, mafi musklia I lied as I took my place in the back, the car pulled out and headed towards the Jordanian side of the Syrian border, the heart wrenching sound of war was a hundred kilometers behind me now but for some reason I didn’t feel any sense of relief.
The journey to the border had begun with the ground shuddering sound of heavy artillery, launched from a position behind us, the taxi drivers had grown accustomed to the sound but the waiting passengers would all flinch with each boom, we could all see the plumes of black smoke rising from the suburbs of Damascus below us, few people commented, four of us bundled into the car and we set off, a trip I had made many times before but now the landscape had changed, everything had changed, lives ripped apart by war, tanks wedged into narrow streets ,the wreckage and rubble of people’s homes lay all around, I had listened to the sounds of this carnage day after day and now faced with it I was consumed with sadness, nobody spoke in the car, everyone but me smoked.
The road to the border was just a series of checkpoints, for the most part only cursory checks and searches and for me no questions but two of the passengers didn’t make it passed the last checkpoint; they didn’t look very surprised as we left them standing at the side of the road their cheap black hold-all’s being searched by two Syrian army privates.
As the car sped through the monochrome landscape of Jordan I contemplated the problem I had not mentioned to the taxi driver, in my passport was a valid stamp that would allow me to return to Syria but the immigration police had retained my residency card, I had argued long and hard but they insisted new regulations meant they would send it to Damascus and I could collect it when I return.
After a year of war and no work I was heading to Jordan and Egypt to try and drum up some work, my financial situation was now serious and the trip was an investment, it was to prove more costly than I had anticipated.JON_9866

17 thoughts on “Damascus the Beginning of the End (pt1)

    1. Thanks Christophe, actually I am working on a couple of things-more to follow soon- and yes crowdfunding a photographic project is also on the cards. Thank you for all your encouragement, means a great deal.

  1. WOW John, I don’t often get a chance to get a look at other peoples blogs, time, Wi-Fi and all of that sort of thing. This is incredible stuff, words and pictures that make me feel like I might be their but also very lucky I am not….

  2. If a picture says a thousand words…I have seen buildings like this in Failaka,with bullet shots traces ,and a town that becomes a ghost town after Saddam’s invasion in Kuwait.Nobody really wins in war.

  3. Thank you for sharing your experiences, story and photos. The photos speak so much emotions by themselves, yet you offer context to why and how they exist. You’re quite courageous to present us another side often not heard nor seen. Thank you

Leave a Reply

