Istanbul Street Photography

“Sometimes I felt that my happiness issued not from the possibility that Füsun was near, but from something less tangible. I felt as if I could see the very essence of life in these poor neighborhoods, with their empty lots, their muddy cobblestone streets, their cars, rubbish bin, and sidewalks, and the children playing with a half-inflated football under the streetlamps”

 The pathetic protagonist, actually he does not deserve the title protagonist since clearly the city is the hero, Kemal is the love sick overtly obsessed character from The Museum of Innocence beautifully crafted by Orhan Pamuk, like so much else of Istanbul Kemal is of the past, pathetic he may have been but at least he pounded the pavement in pursuit of Füsun, Facebook and Chatroulette has confined the modern stalker to malodorous bedrooms filled with tobacco smoke and crumpled tissues.

Kemal my friend if only you had carried a camera instead of pilfering underwear or whatever it was you filled your grubby little pockets with, then we too could see the essence of life in those poor neighborhoods.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Street photography is somehow the vehicle and the destination, with a Nikon slung over my shoulder I set off on a journey of no particular route or terminus, exploring a city in transition, in constant flux, and often my happiness is not in the image I have digitized or burned on film but that understanding that comes from a curious eye.

For those that missed it here is a previous post on Street Photography in Istanbul;

Istanbul Street Photographer, A Social Media Story

I have been in Istanbul four years now and high time I organized my Street Photography archive, anyone interested in seeing more images or perhaps the stories behind the images, or should you want to learn more about technique and the fiddly bits do please feel free to get in touch.

If you are feeling social please drop by and say hello Facebook 

You can follow my blog by dropping your email into the box on the bottom right hand side of the page, I don’t spam.

Comments

34 responses to “Istanbul Street Photography”

  1. houstonphotojourney Avatar

    Yes, I would love to see more!! I LOVE your photography!

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you so much.
      I am editing images now from Istanbul with the idea of putting them together in a small book, any images that grab your attention please do feel to point out-you can find others on my Fb page and website etc.
      Really appreciate your feedback and input 🙂

  2. B Avatar

    Fantastic Images. Great eye. So much in each.

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      So kind, thank you very much 🙂

  3. roxanagheorghe.wordpress.com Avatar

    Great photographs!! you travel a lot…

  4. brickthomas Avatar

    I enjoy your photography and writing. Thanks for sharing and keep it coming. Best wishes. Brick

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Will be doing my best Brick.
      Am hoping to expand the blog but cautious about direction,
      Appreciate your support, thank you.

  5. ultimatetravel8 Avatar

    Your pictures have very good composition. Great pictures!

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you my friend.
      Composition is key.

  6. Saints Avatar

    Hi John, love your street photography. We are going to be in Istanbul ourselves later this week and hoping to shoot some good street stuff of our own. Would love to meet for a coffee if you’re around? Cheers, Darrin & Sharon

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you 🙂
      Yes sure-let me know when and where you are around and lets see if we can work something out-
      Contact details here:
      http://wreford.photoshelter.com/contact

  7. Serenewings Avatar

    John, you work is amazing. You catch so much in a single image, seeing them stirs something inside.

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Wow thank you so much, this pleases me 🙂

  8. Claire Avatar

    I love your photos 🙂

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you Claire.
      I love life down on your farm 🙂
      https://smallholdingdreams.com/
      You are providing me with lots of inspiration for my future plans, thank you.
      John

  9. Leen Avatar

    I absolutely love your photos and enjoy your writings. Inspiring.

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you Leen.
      Looking forward to more from you too 🙂

  10. D. Wallace Peach Avatar

    I love street photography, especially those glimpses into other countries. Lovely photos.

  11. Toshabntz Avatar

    Beautiful. I love how the photos are in black and white. They tell such a great story of a place I may never be able to visit. Thanks for sharing.

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you
      I love black and white, mostly my professional work tends to be in colour but for myself its usually mono, I like the simplicity.

  12. Editor Avatar

    Great stuff! Inspirational!

  13. Katya Evangeline Avatar

    “often my happiness is not in the image I have digitized or burned on film but that understanding that comes from a curious eye.”.

    I love that…It is a unique perspective which undoubtedly informs your work… but I love your point that the experience and understanding you take with you is just as meaningful!

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      I love that you love it, I felt a tad pretentious as I wrote it but honestly its what I felt.
      Your blog is utterly mesmerizing by the way!
      https://katyaevangeline.wordpress.com/

  14. Miss Andi Avatar

    I love this: “often my happiness is not in the image I have digitized or burned on film but that understanding that comes from a curious eye”. It captures how I feel about photography and glad to see others feeling the same.

    1. johnwreford Avatar

      Thank you.
      Its often so hard to express in words how I feel about photography or an image, am glad it touched a nerve with you.
      Cheers
      John

  15. restlessjo Avatar

    For good street photography, do you need to be on the right streets, John? You seem to have chosen pretty well. 🙂 🙂

  16. elenacaravela Avatar

    Stunning images.

  17. johnwreford Avatar

    Praise indeed from such a talented artist, thank you
    John 🙂

  18. baumbachlife Avatar

    Your black and whites are stunning!

  19. Alexandra Avatar

    I absolutely love your idea of a small book with your Istanbul images… your work is amazing…

  20. idjourneys Avatar

    Beautiful photos! I like most that lady walking along the advert. Good luck!

  21. […] Thames than the city the excitement and exotic was a heady creative cocktail. Much later Istanbul (Istanbul Street Photography ) provided the never-ending urban landscape populated with twenty million potential subjects, some […]

Leave a comment